You Have A Responsibility To Be Candid

Leaders have to be candid.

Not only do they have a responsibility to be candid but they must also create an environment where others can be candid. They must feel safe. Fear free.

It dawned me today that it is my responsibility to call it like I see it. I mean really my responsibility. That is a core function of leadership. I almost didn't. Then I did. I am glad. Leaders have to be candid. Everyone is counting on them to call it like they see it. That is leadership. Leaders must also know they are not always right and the team must know it is okay to tell them that. I try to worry only about today and had I been thinking about tomorrow maybe I don't say what needed to be said.

Maybe time will prove me wrong. I don't think so. In the meantime I will sleep better because I called it like I saw it. I said what I thought was wrong. I pointed out what I thought could make us better. I stated clearly what I thought was holding us back. My comments were professional. They came from a place of love. Attack the issue, not the person. A place of responsibility to the team. I owe them that.

What if we all felt safe enough to say what we thought? What if each one of us decided that we would fight like hell to make everyone else feel safe enough to do that? At work. At home. In society.

Sometimes we have to enter the danger for others. Sometimes it means we don't come back but at least they fought the good fight...for others.